On Running Cloudsurfers- Why They Are My New Go-To Shoe

Disclaimer: I received a pair of On Running Cloudsurfers to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

onrunning

I was so excited to receive my first pair of On Running shoes in the mail.  I got the exact same day my husband received his forth pair of On Running shoes.  He had been a fan for quite some time, but I was skeptical at first.  I had ALWAYS been a Newton Running girl.  Always.  I felt comfortable in them.  I would argue with anyone that Newton’s were better than any other running shoe.  I have given other shoe brands a try and they just never worked out for me.  I vowed to give the On Running shoes a legitimate chance before I went back to my Newtons.

Like I said, I was super skeptical about these shoes.  The name “Cloud” in and of itself scared me.  I tried a pair of Hoka’s before and absolutely hated them because it felt like I had no interaction with the road.  It literally felt like I was running on pillows and it was terrible for my skins and legs in general.  I hated them.  I was afraid that the On Running shoes would just be another “Hoka” type shoe trying to be comfortable for runners.  I was so wrong.  I am a road racer and these shoes did a really good job at being comfortable, yet being light enough to use as a racer.  I can’t wear a heavy shoe- I don’t like the feeling of being weighed down by my feet.  The Cloudsurfers passed that test, too!

I started out just wearing them around the house and around town.  Wow- I was pleasantly surprised to feel that they were really comfortable.  I was shocked at the natural ease of the shoe.  The only thing that really bothered me at first was the fact that the tongue was really rough against the front of my foot, but I knew that was something that just needed to be broken in (it did, in fact, get much better with time and now I have no issues with the tongue at all.)

I wore my shoes to spectate at all of my husband’s races (I received a ton of compliments about how stylish my shoes were!) and to all of my dates with my Physical Therapist.  I was so ready to get back to serious running, but my knee was still acting up.  After a few weeks of therapy, a change of shoes from my go-to Newtons (hello On Running!), and some serious KT Tape on my knee, I decided it was time to get back to it and I suited up for a 10K race.  This was my FIRST RACE since high school where I did not wear Newtons.  I wore my On Running shoes.

cccgearpic

We have become an On Running couple.  If it makes it in a gear pic, it is essential!

 

Since this race was my first one back since my injury, I was really nervous that my knee would start acting up and ruin my race like it did Rock N Roll New Orleans Marathon.  I don’t know if it was the On Running shoes, the physical therapy, the KT Tape, or a combination of all of them, but I had my first run pain free in MONTHS and was able to get to the finish line without hobbling there.  Now I feel confident and able to tackle my goals for the year!

 

I am happy to say I am converted to a Cloudsurfer girl!   Light, stylish, practical, comfortable- everything I look for in a running shoe!!

 

OLOLfamily

Want to try some Cloudsurfers of your own??  Grab some here at https://www.on-running.com/en-us/products/cloudsurfer-lava-glacier-w  OR check out your local running store.  Lafayette people- check out Geaux Run!

Leave a Reply

