Zensah Well Rounded Shorts- NOT for me!

Disclaimer: I received a pair of Zensah Well Rounded Shorts to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

I just got this new pair of shorts- the Zensah Well Rounded Shorts.  I am definitely a fan of the shorty shorts- I have many many pairs, so I have lots to compare them to.  I was so excited to give these a try!  Here are just four pairs to see the differences between the three on the right and the one on the far left.

These shorts, from left to right, are Under Armour 3 inch Heatgear Compression shorts, Lululemon What the Sport short, Lululemon Reverse Groove short, and the Zensah Well Rounded short.

zensahshortsback

I accidentally switched the order of these- the two Lululemon shorts are still in the middle, but they are switched from their order in the last collage.

All of these shorts have different qualities and seem to be good for different things.  For example, the Lululemon What the Sport shorts are the best for running since they have side pockets.  The Lululemon Reverse Groove shorts are soft and comfortable and are great for dance practice.  These are by far my favorite for just lounging around because they are thick, comfy, and don’t ride up at all.  The Under Armours do a great job for short runs.  The Zensah shorts work best as underwear.  Yes, underwear.  They are not shorts that I would ever race in for many reasons.

They are completely see through.

When I bend down, my butt crack is showing.   I have a picture, but I am certainly not going to be posting it up for the world to see my booty.  Zensah claims these shorts are made to be worn commando which is even WORSE because then, people wouldn’t only see my underwear, but my entire world.  Not acceptable for me in a pair of shorts.  These are much more acceptable as underwear.  I have a pair of champion workout boyshort underwear that are shockingly similar to these shorts.  The only difference is that the champion ones are SOLD as UNDERWEAR and not as SHORTS.  I would never buy these Zensah “shorts” and I will not recommend them to my fellow runners

They create the dreaded camel toe.  

I have to own about 7 different pair of these types of shorts.  NONE of them create camel toe EXCEPT for the Zensah ones.  I’m not sure whether it is the cut of the shorts or the size of them, but they are terrible.  I really don’t want to go into more detail on this one because, yuck, but I had to let you know that.

You can look at the pictures and see that these are more underwear-y than the others.  Around the crotch, they crease into the top of my legs the way none of the other shorts do.  I just can’t with these shorts.

They ride up.

If I am choosing compression shorts to wear, I do so in the hopes that they will not ride up and end up looking like panties.  If I wanted to run in briefs, I would buy a pair.  These ride up SO MUCH.  One day, since I felt that they were supremely panty like, I decided to wear them under a dress that was too short for me to feel comfortable wearing without shorts under.  They rode up the entire day.  It would have been more comfortable for me to go without the shorts on and be nervous I would flash the world all day.  They were just not comfy and comfort is the most important aspect to me when it comes to running shorts.

I run MARATHONS.  I cannot IMAGINE running a marathon in these shorts when I couldn’t walk around school all day with these on under my dress.

 

I really don’t have any more reasons as to why I dislike these shorts because those three reasons really are enough to make me swear off the brand all together; HOWEVER, just like every product on the market, some people loved them!  If you’re interested in reading some of their reviews- here they are!

http://azsungoddess.weebly.com/blog-posts/zensah-well-rounded-shorts-review

http://www.jenrunsfastblog.com/2016/05/bibrave-pro-product-review-zensah-well.html

http://www.runwithnoregrets.com/2016/05/zensah-shorts-product-review/

https://darlinrae.com/2016/05/08/product-review-zensah-well-rounded-shorts/

 

Leave a Reply

